3.3.21 Week In Review

We've started a new series this month on The Chill Business Journey about Visuals on Social. And this week's episode, 84 | Planning for Images & Videos on Social, lays the foundational work for the series. 

Facebook shares 3 ways to get your message out in 2021. They also have new updates to help small businesses. See how the boom with games can help all types of businesses on social. Learn how to create a DIY studio for brand photography. They've aggregated 3 free courses to turn a hobby into a business. Facebook Community Manager Certification expands to new languages. Get the latest responses to the Oversight Board's recommendations. Cross app messaging between Facebook & Instagram platforms. 

Instagram has a 3-part series showcasing 3 female entrepreneurs. Live Rooms available to have 4 people on a live stream. Disappearance of likes was temporary.

Twitter announces new Covid misinformation labels. New shopping feature on the horizon. Android users now have access to Spaces. Super Follows allows users to pay gate content and Groups coming to Twitter. 

Pinterest launched Pinterest Shop Collection showcasing 25 women founded small businesses. You can now embed Pinterest Pins into OneNote and Word.

LinkedIn Marketing Lab has a free course: Building a Full-Funnel Content Marketing Strategy.

Snapchat announces May 20th for their annual Snap Partner Summit. New wheelchair Bitmojis as part of their inclusivity project. 

TikTok celebrates women this month with #WhenWomenWin. And they have launched TikTok Business Profiles

In this week's Allyship Segment of the Week, I shared the site: Guide to Allyship. Use this resource as a starting point to becoming an Ally.

2.24.21 Week In Review

On The Chill Business Journey, we released Episode 83 | Social Ads on Pinterest & LinkedIn. This wraps up our series about Ads on Social. 

Facebook expands their Climate Science Information Center. Oculus VR headsets can now have multiple accounts tied to them. New negotiations happening for news shut down in Australia. New tools to stop the exploitation of children on the platform. They have released their latest State of Small Business Report for the US. Learn about Branding in Facebook's Blueprint learning platform.

Instagram has new resources to provide support with eating disorders in honor of National Eating Disorder Awareness Week (NEDAwareness). 

Twitter calls for Allyship to #StandForAsians

Pinterest also partners with the National Eating Disorder Association to share messaging about events and round table talks. 

LinkedIn releases several new free features for Company Pages. Listen to the expert panel on 2/25/21 discussing Full Funnel Myths Debunked

YouTube has new controls for parents for teens and tweens. They also launched Creator Voices to learn from successful creators. Latest lineup of YouTube Originals released for YouTube Kids. They are putting effort back into YouTube Spaces, with only virtual for now, but bringing pop up location back when it is safe to.

TikTok announces the first 100 Black Creators & Music Artists for new incubator program. They have partnered with the UFC and Portland's Timbers and Thorns FC teams.TikTok has also released new tools in support of National Eating Disorder Awareness week. And their second half of 2020 Transparency Report has been released. 

In this week's Allyship Segment of the Week, NPR's Code Switch podcast is starting a fellows program with two categories: Recent journalist graduates and Reporting Fellowship.

2.17.21 Week In Review

On The Chill Business Journey, we released Episode 82 | Running Ads on Facebook. We cover 6 items you need to get started, then walk through creating an ad for Traffic.

Facebook expands programs for Black owned businesses for BHM. New suite of tools released for App Developers. They also have a one stop shop for getting started with Facebook for businesses. So far $120M has been donated to COVID support. A Facebook smartwatch may be in our future too. Everyone is trying to mimic Clubhouse and Facebook is in the works on a similar one now. Hang tight if you are a Windows 10 user that Messenger crashes on.

Boost My Business has a training on creating Instagram Reels. We Create formed in honor of BHM. Lunar New Year gets some special love. And Instagram shares 3 ways to turn inspiration into action with Saved Content

Twitter shares how to prepare for the Apple iOS update. They are also expanding the types of accounts that get labeled as state-affiliates.

Pinterest releases Interests for iOS. They also share back stage access to NY Fashion Week.

LinkedIn helped fill 330,000 jobs relating to the pandemic. Check out their 5 Practices for using LinkedIn to build your brand. They are also forming a Creator Platform.

YouTube shares some behind the scenes of the making of Life in a Day 2010 and Life in a Day 2020. This year's AdBlitz share The Big Game ad winner. 

Clubhouse is ramping up encryption for their platform.

Is Dispo a new platform to be on the lookout for?

In this week's Allyship Segment of the Week, I share the lifestyle blog, Orchids + Sweet Tea, from Shanika Graham-White. 

2.10.21 Week In Review

On The Chill Business Journey this week, we released Episode 81 | Editorial Calendars for Social Ad Planning as the second episode in our series this month on Ads on Social.

Facebook continues COVID support and is reducing political content that is shown. They also released a video series on how to enhance your creatives. For Safer Internet Day, they shared new and existing safety features on Messenger.

Instagram is updating how they will handle abuse on the platform. Reels content that is low quality video or from another platform (like TikTok) will not be discoverable. They are also working on a vertical Stories feed.

Kpop tweets on Twitter reached 6.7 Billion in 2020. #SaferInternetDay2021 got a fun emoji. They have shut down their Ads Transparency Center. Spaces (Twitter's competing tool to Clubhouse) increased beta group from 1,000 to 4,000. They are also looking at new income streams, like a subscription for TweetDeck.

LinkedIn partners with Microsoft Viva on a new Employee Experience Platform. Account mapping is coming to Sales Navigator.

YouTube refreshes YouTube Sports and expands CTV to Australia, Canada, India and Japan. 

Snapchat's Spotlight (their answer to TikTok) had 100M users in January.

TikTok shared 3 features for Internet Safety Day. They are releasing more tools to combat false information spread. And they have expanded their alliance with Universal Music Group.

Google Analytics will no longer pull in data from YouTube.

In this week's Allyship Segment of the Week, I share the free image site, Nappy. They provide free stock images that showcase people of color to use either personally or professionally.

2.3.21 Week In Review

On The Chill Business Journey this week, we released Episode 80 | Know Your Target Audience where we lay the foundation for the theme this month: Ads on Social. 

Facebook is changing the name of "Units" in groups to "Guides". For Black History Month, they are showcasing different creators, businesses and individuals. To get ahead of the dwindling power of the Pixel, they have created a Conversions API. There is also an exclusion control for advertisers to have more control over content that is placed next to their ads. Facebook is also planning for a new subscription tool for journalists and writers. Messenger rooms are getting new creatives from underrepresented artists. And Messenger is coming to Oculus!

Instagram now has a new "Recently Deleted" function to be able to bring back deleted content. They have also opened back up their Publishing API to third party tools. 

Twitter has started releasing features of their Revue purchase into the platform.

Pinterest is also showcasing Black creators this month. On Pinterest Creators Presents, they will have Black Gold on 2/24.

LinkedIn has a guide to help you control your feed and conversations. They also released a 6 point checklist to help measure your ad campaigns.

YouTube is featuring Black Artists each week that are showcased on their channel. Leandro Assis is this week's featured artist. They also have a new clipping tool in the works for users.

TikTok has partnered with WPP to expand their offerings. They have also partnered with Quizlet so creators that focus on learning and informative content can have another tool in their toolbox.

Clubhouse has confirmed they are in the works of adding a paid subscription service tool for creators.

In this week's Allyship Segment of the Week, I share a page on The History Channel's website that showcasing Black History Month as well as the theme for 2021. 

1.27.21 Week In Review

On The Chill Business Journey this week, we released Episode 79 | Networking with Existing Contacts.

Facebook shares concepts of how their algorithm works. They have also turned over Trump’s accounts to their independent Oversight Board. Facebook News comes to the UK. They are also directing users to credible Holocaust resources when searching for it.

Instagram is releasing a Professional Dashboard for business and creator accounts.

Twitter acquired the editorial newsletter platform, Revue. They have also introduced the community based tool, Birdwatch. Be sure you comply with changes if you are a verified account on the platform.

Pinterest expands their Try on tool to eyeshadow as well as expanding product tagging features. They also now have Story Pins.

YouTube has an International Holocaust Remembrance Commemoration today. And CEO Susan Wojcicki shares their priorities for 2021.

New kid, Clubhouse, is raising funding to be able to pay creators on their platform.

In this week’s Allyship Segment of the Week, I share the blog post 20 Female Black Influencers to Follow in 2021, by fashion and lifestyle blogger, Tomi.

1.20.21 Week In Review

On The Chill Business Journey this week, we share 5 Tips for Video Calls. No matter how great we think we are on video, there are always times when we need reminders on how to conduct ourselves 😉.

Facebook releases their next level of AAT which identifies objects in images. They also released a new Business Equality resource center.

Twitter has created the first @SecondGentleman account for the husband of our first female Vice President in the US, Kamala Harris.

LinkedIn shares 5 New B2B Customer Engagement Strategies.

YouTube launches a new health partnership team with Dr. Garth Graham leading it.

In this week's Allyship Segment of the Week, I share the book The Leader's Guide to Unconscious Bias by Pamela Fuller, Mark Murphy and Anne Chow.

1.13.21 Week In Review

On The Chill Business Journey this week, we share 4 Online Networking Spaces that you can keep up with your networking in 2021.

Facebook updated the Access Your Information Tool. Roy Austin joins Facebook as VP of their new Civil Rights Organization. They have also stepped up their monitoring of posts that violate their TOS ahead of the US Inauguration Day. Check out their 7 Tips for better interactions on Messenger

Twitter shared over 2 Billion tweets were made in 2020 about gaming. They also permanently suspended @realDonaldTrump. Twitter released a statement of the work they are doing following the riots in DC.

Pinterest shares how people shop differently for tech today.

LinkedIn shares video marketing trends in 2021. They also released the Jobs on the Rise report to help those looking for jobs right now.

YouTube announces #YouTubeBlack Voices Class of 2021 shining the spotlight on 132 Black creators and artists around the world. 

In this week's Allyship Segment of the Week, I share the 36 US recipients of YouTube's Black Voices Class of 2021.

1.6.21 Week In Review

The Chill Business Journey is back! Visit Episode 76 | Planning for 2021 to get your FREE 2021 Chill Editorial Calendar.

The doors are open until 11:59pm MT on 1/31/21 for The Chill Business Society. Sign up today to stay on track with your digital marketing for your business in 2021.

Join our FREE Facebook Group: Chill Collaborative for DIY Marketing. Where we will support small business owners year round with their digital marketing needs.

Prepare your business for changes with Facebook Ads as they regard to Apple's iOS 14 this month. Be prepared for drops in revenue based on the inability to target ads effectively. Facebook also released updates to the Pages Experience

Pinterest has released their predictions for trends in 2021. See if there are any you need to be tracking for your business.

YouTube released a short video where they asked successful creators on their platform to share advice on running your channel in 2021.

In this week's Allyship Segment of the Week, I share a documentary list compiled by Dazed Digital. Get these shows on your watchlist to watch soon.